Piece of Cake

Um.  Or Bread.  When bananas turn black, I get happy.  My boyfriend back in college told me that when he was a kid, his mom used to convince him to eat spotted bananas by claiming that the black spots were monkey kisses.  I just plain out refused to eat bananas with a single spot on them.  They looked diseased and were too sweet.  And then one of my best friends in college used to eat bananas when they were borderline green.  I could approve of that type of behavior!

I’m a changed woman now…I rarely eat bananas, unless they’re sliced on a bowl of raisin bran, because I think something unworldly can be created from the entire bunch.  I buy bananas and let them sit in my windowsill until they’re black.  When they are sickeningly sweet, I do the banana dance and prepare for a house scented with tropical herbaceous scents.  I’m not really a baker, but I get excited over banana bread.  If the bananas are not fully covered in ‘monkey kisses’, the banana bread does not reach its full banana potential.   But it’s the easiest, quickest batch of bread to whip up and it’s perfect for a bbq or dinner party…or if you need a late-night sweet-tooth satiateor like myself.  And (just between you and me) everyone loves it!!  Wanna impress your friends?  Buy a bunch of bananas, forget about em for a week, and then follow these easy instructions:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3 medium to large overripe bananas, slightly mashed

1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

Lately I’ve been throwing in a hand full of dried cherries, prunes or figs.

First off, get your house nice and toasty by preheating your oven to 350 F.  Be thankful summer is coming to an end…  Then grease and flour your 9×5″ inch loaf pan-and I line the bottom with wax paper for extra measure.  Combine oil, sugar and eggs.  Whip until light and creamy, for about 2 minutes.  Add vanilla and mashed bananas and beat until combined.

In another bowl, combine flour and baking soda.  Add to the banana-egg mixture and stir to combine.  Beat until creamy and consistent.

Pour into baking pan and put in center of oven for approximately 50 minutes.  Rotate half way through.  Insert cake tester and make sure it comes out clean.  After 5 minutes of rest outside the oven, run along the edges with a knife to release the bread and then turn out onto a rack.  Let cool completely, then wrap in plastic and refrigerate overnight.  In the morning, unwrap the bread and rejoice in the gooey-ness that is your banana bread!

3 responses to “Piece of Cake

  1. Monkey kisses and other delights… I can taste your words! What we have here folks, is the flowering of a new internet phenom: A HAPPY DAY SITE. The world needs more of this. Spread the word.

  2. PS the borders of your blog are ripe for paying sponsors. I should think food-related venues that do ongoing adverts would be keen to be seen on your site. Afterall, no one can resist monkey kisses…

  3. monkey kisses!! i will never forget the day you told me about that. i have passed this knowledge on to my neighbor and her 2 year old son and she is forever greatful for it. and thanks for the recipe, i’ve been meaning to ask you for it… long live the art of not fine dining!

Leave a Reply

